CAHR

& EMERGENCY SHELTER

Over the weeks, beds became available. The intervention team worked with a fixed and smaller group, allowing them to deepen their interventions and find solutions with the users so that they could benefit from better living conditions.

This is how the traditional refuge was transformed into a welcome and accommodation for referencing center (Centre d’accueil et d’hébergement en référencement, or CAHR).

On March 18, 2020, the pandemic forced Maison du Père to suspend admissions to the Refuge in order to limit its access to one same group of individuals and to reduce the number of users in the dormitories, to meet social distancing standards recommended by Public healthcare officials.

Thus, the 194 men present at the Refuge that evening had the privilege of keeping their beds, as long as they respected the rules of conduct, hygiene and social distancing.

 

 
D.Alarie copie.png

" These men are no different from you or me. They have the same problems. The only difference, often, is just a safety net, a healthy social network that supports them. It's just a matter of seeing the potential in them, of helping them rebuild this network, this net around them.

 

Help them, too, to see their own value in themselves."

 

Duane

Pivotal worker, CAHR

Street worker

2020

In 3 month
28 people have found accommodation or have been taken in by a family member

1812
different
men

Welcoming
755 newcomers
(first time at
Maison  du Père)

3469  refusal because of lack of space and as much referencing

63 199
nights of accomodations

How it works

2021...

We have kept some of the dormitory beds for emergency accommodation needs, but the majority of them (96) are dedicated to homeless men who participate in the program and agree to engage in a social reintegration and residential stability process. They must also be involved in a technical activity of the House: food service, housekeeping, laundry, etc. This is a first step to re-affiliate socially.

Participants in the CAHR program have a worker to support them in their efforts. They also benefit from all the services to meet their basic needs for a period of 4 months (accommodation, meals, hygiene care, clothing, etc.).

At the end of this period, they must chose their stabilization plan: integrate a social reintegration program from Maison du Père or another organization, integrate a retirement home or a long-term care center, integrate housing with or without supervision, etc.

So that every street finds an exit ...

CONTACT EMERGENCY SHELTER:

Le

CAHR

& l'Hébergement d'urgence

Le 18 mars 2020, la pandémie a forcé la Maison du Père à suspendre les admissions au Refuge afin de limiter ses accès à un même groupe d’individus et de réduire le nombre d’usagers dans les dortoirs, pour répondre aux normes de distanciation sociale recommandées par la santé publique.

Ainsi, les 194 hommes présents au Refuge ce soir-là ont eu le privilège de conserver leur lit, tant et aussi longtemps qu’ils respectaient les règles de vie, d’hygiène et de distanciation sociale.

Au fil des semaines, des lits se sont libérés. L’équipe d’intervention a travaillé avec un groupe fixe et plus restreint, permettant ainsi d’approfondir leur intervention et de trouver des solutions avec les usagers afin qu’ils puissent bénéficier de meilleures conditions de vie.

C’est ainsi que Le Refuge traditionnel a été transformé en Centre d’accueil et d’hébergement en référencement (CAHR).

 

« Ces hommes ne sont pas bien différents de vous ou moi. Ils ont les mêmes problèmes. La seule différence, souvent, c’est juste un filet de sécurité, un réseau social sain qui les soutient. Il s’agit juste de voir en eux le potentiel, de les aider à reconstruire ce réseau, ce filet autour d’eux.

 

 Les aider, aussi, à voir en eux leur propre valeur.  »

Duane

Intervenant pivot au CAHR
Travailleur de rue

2020

En 3 mois, 
28 personnes

ont trouvé un logement ou ont été accueillies par un membre de leur famille.

1812
hommes
différents

755 nouveaux hommes
sans-abri

3469 refus
faute de place
et autant de référencements

63 199
nuitées

Comment ça fonctionne? 

2021...
 

Nous avons conservé une partie des lits des dortoirs pour les besoins d’hébergement d’urgence, mais la majorité d’entre eux (96) sont dédiés aux hommes en situation d’itinérance qui participent au programme et acceptent de s’engager dans une démarche de réinsertion sociale et de stabilité résidentielle. Ils doivent également s’impliquer dans une activité technique de la Maison : service alimentaire, entretien ménager, buanderie, etc. Un premier pas pour se réaffilier socialement.

Les participants au programme du CAHR ont un intervenant pour les accompagner dans leurs démarches. Ils bénéficient également de tous les services pour combler leurs besoins primaires pour une période de 4 mois (gîte, repas, soins d’hygiène, vêtements, etc.).

Au bout de cette période, ils devront avoir choisi leur plan de stabilisation : intégrer un programme de réinsertion sociale de la Maison du Père ou d’un autre organisme; intégrer une résidence pour aînés ou un centre de soins de longue durée; intégrer un logement avec ou sans supervision, etc.

Pour que la rue ait une issue…

COMMUNIQUER AVEC LE CAHR :