J.A. DESÈVE RESIDENCE

The J.A. DeSève Residence ensures the well-being of seniors experiencing homelessness. They cannot fall back on other senior homes because they have low incomes and complex challenges. Living conditions on the streets caused these men to age prematurely. 

More and more seniors find themselves on the streets for the first time.

We need to find solutions. Ageing with dignity must be a priority

 

« Everyone is equally important here, that’s why I love my work so much. »

Angélique
Nurse aid, 
J.A. DeSève Residence

« Retirement isn’t as easy as people think… at the J.A. DeSève residence, I feel safe. »

Raymond, 65 years old
Resident

2019

Average stay time: 
5,1 years

Average Age: 

67 years old

69,8 %

have mental health issue

( depression,
bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, etc.  )

83%

have physical 

health issue

95 % are able to maintain housing stability

How it works

The J.A. De Sève Residence provides long-term housing for men aged 50 and over who have experienced homelessness, have suffered or are suffering from addiction and/or physical or mental health issues, and who want to get off the street. The majority of them have no social network or family support

With a capacity of 82, the Residence offers a wide range of services, including private rooms, three meals and three snacks a day, hygiene care, individual follow-up based on an intervention plan established according to the resident’s issues, administration of medications, accompaniment to medical appointments, etc. In addition, residents can count on regular visits by specialists, such as doctors, nurses and social workers. Numerous social activities are also scheduled.

The mandatory trustee service includes cheque cashing, bill payment and help managing a monthly budget. Other administrative services, such as help preparing tax returns, wills and even funeral arrangements, are also available to residents. The costs of the services and of occupying a room at the Residence are set according to each individual’s income.

CONTACT RESIDENCE: 

550, boulevard René-Lévesque Est
Montréal  (Québec)  H2L 2L3
514 845-0168
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

La

RÉSIDENCE J.A. DESÈVE

La Résidence J.A DeSève veille au bien-être d'aînés qui ont connu l'itinérance. Ils ne peuvent avoir recours aux autres maisons pour personnes âgées en raison de leur faible revenu et de la complexité de leurs problématiques. Les conditions de vie de la rue ont fait vieillir ces hommes prématurément. 

De plus en plus de personnes âgées se retrouvent à la rue pour une première fois.

Nous devons trouver des solutions. Vieillir dans la dignité doit être une priorité. 

 

« Ici, tout le monde a la même importance, c’est pour cela que j’aime tant mon travail. »

Angélique
Préposée aux bénéficiaires, 
Résidence J.A. DeSève

« C'est pas si rose qu'on pense la retraite. À la Résidence, je me sens en sécurité. »

Raymond, 65 ans
Résident

2017

Nombre d'admission
de nouveaux: 
17

Âge moyen: 

66,4 ans

71,2% ont un diagnostic de
maladie mentale

( dépression,
trouble bipolaire, schizophrénie, etc. )

93% ont un problème de santé physique

Gestion de
la médication
de 55%
d'entre eux

Comment ça fonctionne? 

La Résidence J.A. De Sève est un centre d'hébergement de longue durée pour les hommes de 55 ans et plus qui ont connu l'itinérance, ont souffert ou souffrent de dépendance et/ou de problématiques reliées à la santé physique et/ou mentale, et qui désirent se sortir de la rue.  La majorité d’entre eux n’ont pas de réseau social ou familial aidant. 

D'une capacité de 82 personnes, la Résidence offre de nombreux services : chambre privée, trois repas et trois collations par jour, soins d'hygiène, suivi d'un plan d'intervention établi selon les problématiques du résident, gestion de la médication, accompagnement aux rendez-vous médicaux, etc. De plus, ils peuvent compter sur la présence régulière de spécialistes tels que médecins, infirmières et travailleurs sociaux.  De nombreuses activités sociales leur sont aussi proposées.

Le service de fiducie est obligatoire et comprend: l'encaissement des chèques, le paiement des comptes et la gestion du budget mensuel.  D’autres services administratifs sont également à la disposition des résidents dont la préparation du rapport d'impôt, du testament et même des arrangements funéraires.  Les coûts de services et d’occupation d’une chambre à la Résidence sont établis selon le revenu de chacun.

COMMUNIQUER AVEC LA RÉSIDENCE : 

  • Instagram
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
550, boulevard René-Lévesque Est
Montréal  (Québec)  H2L 2L3
514 845-0168